The history of the Department of Mass Communication, Journalism & Media Studies dates back to December 3, 2004 when it began functioning as Media and Communication Study Center (MCSC) with a One-year Post Graduation Diploma course in Mass Communication & Journalism. MCSC was placed under the Entrepreneurship Development Cell (EDC) which was set up in 2003 to impart skill-development courses. In 2008, MCSC was renamed as Centre for Mass Communication & Journalism (CMCJ). As a tribute to Bharat Ratna Late Dr. Bhupen Hazarika, CMCJ became BCMJ i.e. Dr. Bhupen Hazarika Centre for Mass Communication & Journalism. The Centre was eventually upgraded to a full-fledged Department in July, 2018.

Recent Publications

  • Dr Sayanika Dutta (2021). How to Save News Today: Perspectives of Media Freedom and Responsibility (ISBN: 978-93-87494-48-0), 175 Years of Media in Assam and Beyond
    Publish by: Mahabahoo in association with Multicultural Educational Development Trust
    Publish on: 31-January-2021

  • Dr Sayanika Dutta (2020). Social Media and Women Entrepreneurs in Assam (ISBN: 978-93-5407-923-8), Entrepreneurial Innovation & Regional Development
    Publish by: Department of MBA, GCC Centre of Management Studies (GCMS), Gauhati Commerce College
    Publish on: 01-May-2020

  • Dr Sayanika Dutta (2021). Creating awareness, spreading pertinent messages - silently. (ISSN: 0042-5303), Vidura - A journal of the Press Institute of India
    Publish by: Press Institute of India
    Publish on: 01-March-2021

  • Dr Sayanika Dutta (2020). Doordarshan, thank you for taking us down memory lane (ISSN: 0042-5303), Vidura - A Journal of the Press Institute of India
    Publish by: Press Institute of India
    Publish on: 01-June-2020

  • Kuntala Das (2020). Media and Peace Process: Looking Beyond Conflict Coverage (ISBN: 978-93-5419-238-8), Media Representation of Northeast India
    Publish by: Centre for Publications, St. Claret College. Arunachal Pradesh
    Publish on: 01-December-2020

Got Questions?

For Further Information Contact:

Dr. Abhijit Barthakur

Head of the Department